Raja Area Diocese - Info and Basic Contacts


Raja Area Diocese is in the Western sector of Wau Diocese and is a part of Northern Bahr el Ghazal Internal Province in the Episcopal Church of South Sudan. Rev Peter Jonathan Beria Fandii was appointed on 26/11/2017 as coordinator of Raja area diocese.

There are just ten chapels in the army garrisons and two civilian churches. Raja is a mainly Muslim area. The ECSS has made headway through a ministry to soldiers in 2012 after the South Sudan independence. This is a large area with four counties. Pastors have been sent to evangelize the area. There are twelve tribes in Raja Area Diocese. The main needs of that area, are the opening of schools hospitals and Churches. 

Administrative divisions

Raja was divided into  four counties.

  • Raga county.
  • Erii (Timisha) county.
  • Bor- madina county. 
  • Deni-ziber county.

This is the area of the new Raja Area Diocese.

Towns and cities

Raja is a small but growing town that straddles the Raga River. It is estimated that the population of Raja was 3,700 in 2010.From Raja, the main road north (B41) leads to Al Murrah in the Republic of Sudan. B41-South leads to Wau, South Sudan. Raja is also served by Raja Airport.

The diocesan bishop is the Most Rev Moses Deng Bol and he may be contacted via: 



The Rev Peter Jonathon Beria

c/o Archbishop of Northern Bahr el Ghazel Internal Province and Bishop of ECSS Wau Diocese,

Opposite Wau Teaching Hospital,

PO Box 110, Juba, South Sudan

Phone No Sudan: +211 926954187      

or when in Kenya: +254 716641233


Other important Wau diocesan staff contacts:

Secretary: Rev William Majok - dio.secretary@wau.anglican.org

Treasurer: Mr Malong G Akol - treasurer@wau.anglican.org

Communication  Coordinator: Rev Meshack Magak Ruai - communications@wau.anglican.org 

More contacts can be found on the Wau Diocese website: