Aweil Diocese - Info and Basic Contacts


Bishop Abraham Yel NhialAweil Diocese is a part of Northern Bahr el Ghazal Internal Province in the Episcopal Church of South Sudan.

The Diocese of Aweil is among one of the largest Dioceses in Sudan, it neighbours Western Bahr-el-gazal state to the South East, Warrap state to the East, South Kordofan to the North, Darfur to North West, and Abyei to the North East. Aweil Diocese covers an estimated area of 33,559KM with an estimated population of 2.8 Million. Politically, it is divided into five counties and Aweil Head Quarters. Aweil Diocese has 8 Archdeaconries and is headed by the Rt. Rev. Abraham Y. Nhial, he is supported by Diocesan Secretary Rev. Stephen M. Mou, and Diocesan Bishop's Commissary Ven. Canon Angelo Yuet Aguer. 

Aweil Diocese has two Assistant Bishops Rt Joseph Mamer and Rt Rev Peter Garang Akuei.

Aweil Diocese comprises of a standing committee of which all are archdeacons. The treasurer of the Diocese and Diocesan secretary are all members. There are 70 ordained priests to serve 192 Churches and 78,714 permanent E.C.S.S members.




                         A map showing Aweil


The diocesan bishop is the Rt Rev Abraham Yel Nhial and he may be contacted via:


The Rt Rev Abraham Yel Nhial

c/o Archbishop of Northern Bahr el Ghazel Internal Province and Bishop of ECSS Wau Diocese,

Opposite Wau Teaching Hospital,

PO Box 110, Juba, South Sudan

Phone No Sudan: +211 926954187      

or when in Kenya: +254 716641233


More contacts can be found on the Abyei Diocese website: